Management Team

Arun B Papaiah

Founder and Chief Executive Officer

Arun is the Founder and CEO at Avammune Therapeutics. He previously co-founded Aten Porus Lifesciences, Oraxion Therapeutics and Avaliv Therpaeutics, R&D companies focused on drug discovery. Arun was instrumental in the option agreement of Oraxion’s technology platform to a US based biotech company for $125 MM. Arun holds an MBA from the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (Australia), and a Bachelor of Science degree from Christ University (India). Arun has over 10 years of experience as an entrepreneur in various aspects of business including Finance, Operations, Technology transfer and Business development.

Aditya Kulkarni, PhD

Founder and Chief Scientific Officer

Aditya is the Founder and CSO at Avammune Therapeutics. He previously co-founded Aten Porus Lifesciences, Oraxion Therapeutics and Avaliv Therapeutics, R&D companies focused on drug discovery. Aditya is the inventor of Oraxion’s technology platform that was eventually licensed to a US based biotech company for $125 MM. He has co-authored >15 papers and filed several international patents in the areas of nucleic acid delivery, Niemann-Pick Type C therapeutics, and drug discovery. He has been a recipient of scholarships during his Masters and PhD and was also awarded the H. C. Brown Award for Outstanding Organic Research at Purdue University in June 2012. Aditya has a PhD in Bioorganic Chemistry from Purdue University (USA), MS in Chemical Biology from Leeds University (UK), and B.Sc in Chemistry from Christ University (India).

Srinivasan Namala

Founder and Director

Srinivasan is the Founder and Director at Avammune Therapeutics. He previously co-founded Aten Porus Lifesciences an Oraxion Therapeutics, both R&D companies focusesd on drug discovery. He is currently serving as the CEO of Porus Labs, a chemical manufacturing conglomerate serving customers across India, US, and Europe. Srinivasan has over 15 years of experience in varied aspects of business including technology transfer, SCM, Business Development and Finance. Srinivasan has an MS in Pharmaceutics from Northeastern University (USA), and B.Pharm from BITS Pilani (India).

Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. George Church

Prof. George Church is Professor of Genetics at Harvard Medical School and Director of, which provides the world's only open-access information on human Genomic, Environmental & Trait data (GET). His innovations have contributed to nearly all "next generation" DNA sequencing methods and companies (CGI-BGI, Life, Illumina, Nanopore). This plus his lab's work on chip-DNA-synthesis, gene editing and stem cell engineering resulted in founding additional application-based companies spanning fields of medical diagnostics (Knome/PierianDx, Alacris, AbVitro/Juno, Genos, Veritas Genetics ) & synthetic biology / therapeutics ( Joule, Gen9, Editas, Egenesis, enEvolv, WarpDrive ). He is director of an IARPA BRAIN Project and NIH Center for Excellence in Genomic Science. His honors include election to NAS & NAE & Franklin Bower Laureate for Achievement in Science. He has co-authored 514 papers, 143 patent publications & one book (Regenesis).

Prof. Kate Fitzgerald

Prof. Kate Fitzgerald is the Professor of Medicine, Director of the Program in Innate Immunity and The Worcester Foundation Chair in Biomedical Sciences at the University of Massachusetts (Amherst) Medical School. Prof. Fitzgerald received her Ph.D. in 1999 from Trinity College Dublin, Ireland, and later a post-doctoral fellow in the Department of Biochemistry working with Luke O’Neill (1999-2002). She joined the Division of Infectious Disease at the UMass Medical School as a Wellcome Trust Fellow in 2002 and joined the faculty in 2004. Her lab is focused on understanding the molecular mechanisms controlling the inflammatory response and employs multifaceted approaches including immunology, biochemistry, molecular biology and genetics to understand these mechanisms in both health and disease.

Prof. Jean-François Paquin

Prof. Jean-François Paquin studied chemistry at the Université Laval where he graduated with a BSc degree. In 2004, he received his PhD degree under the supervision of Professor Mark Lautens at the University of Toronto (Canada). After a postdoctoral stay in Professor Erick M. Carreira’s lab at the ETH Zürich (Switzerland), he was appointed assistant professor in 2005 at the Université Laval in Quebec City (Canada) as a Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Organic and Medicinal Chemistry (2005–2010). In 2010, he was promoted to associate professor and his Canada Research Chair in Organic and Medicinal Chemistry was renewed (2010–2015). In June 2014, he was promoted to full professor. His current research interests include organofluorine chemistry, organic synthesis, catalysis, and medicinal chemistry. He has co-authored > 80 papers and received many prizes including the Keith Fagnou Award from the Canadian Society for Chemistry and a Research Fellowship from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.


STING plays an important role in innate immunity and induces type I interferon production when cells are infected with intracellular pathogens, such as viruses, mycobacteria and intracellular parasites. The activation of Type I Interferons & cytokines further recruits T cells, dendritic cells, macrophages and NK cells that leads to destruction of the infected cells.

Avammune is developing highly potent non-nucleotidic small molecules inhibitors of Ectonucleotide Pyrophosphatase I (ENPP1), a negative regulator of the STING pathway, to combat cancer and infectious diseases.


Avammune Therapeutics Announces Series A Funding and Formation of Scientific Advisory Board

Avammune Therapeutics Inc., (formerly known as Straximm Therapeutics), a spin-off from Aten Porus Lifesciences (Bangalore, India), today announced the raise of its Series A funding and formation of it's Scientific Advisory Board.

Contact Us

Feel free to email us if you are interested in the project and you want to know more, or to just say hello !

Avammune Therapeutics

Philadelphia, PA